Monsters Within and Something In The Darkness

By Mark
Telos Publishing have released the covers and details for two upcoming books, Monsters Within and Something In The Darkness. Set for release in December, Monsters Within is a detailed guide to the fourth series of Doctor Who following the adventures recently seen on screen. Something in the Darkness will take an in depth look at the second series of Torchwood and is set for release in August. Here is what Telos Publishing have to say about each of the books;
Monsters Within

Monsters Within is a comprehensive episode guide to Series Four of the new Doctor Who. following the ongoing adventures of the Doctor (David Tennant) as he travels through space and time accompanied by his new companion Donna Noble (Catherine Tate) and rejoined by old friends including Martha Jones (Freema Agyeman), Rose Tyler (Billie Piper), Captain Jack Harkness (John Barrowman) and Sarah Jane Smith (Elisabeth Sladen).

The full build-up and background are revealed, from the aftermath of Series Three and the apparent death of the Master (John Simm) right up to date, detailing all the major news stories, press releases, casting announcements and critical response.

The spotlight is then focused on each of the 13 episodes in turn, plus the Christmas Special 'Voyage of the Damned', with in-depth coverage, including all the facts and figures, behind-the-scenes details, press and fan reaction and detailed and insightful analysis.

The perfect way to relive the Time Lord's encounters with the cute Adipose, the fiery Pyroviles, the terrifying Ood, the warlike Sontarans, famed crime novelist Agatha Christie - and even 'The Doctor's Daughter' - plus the Earth-shattering series finale with the Daleks. Monsters Within is an essential read for all fans of the show, and continues Telos's unrivalled coverage of Doctor Who.

Something In The Darkness

Torchwood. Protecting the Earth against alien threats in the 21st Century - the time when everything changes. A Doctor Who spin-off created by Russell T Davies and starring John Barrowman as Captain Jack Harkness, Eve Myles as Gwen Cooper, Burn Gorman as Owen Harper, Naoko Mori as Toshiko Sato and Gareth David-Lloyd as Ianto Jones, Torchwood is a high-octane sci-fi thriller, full of adventure, passion, humour and excitement.

The second series saw Torchwood investigating alien sleeper cells; saving a stranded creature from human exploitation; meeting a First World War soldier; and dealing with a memory thief who exposes long-held secrets within the whole team; not to mention encountering charismatic rogue Captain John Hart (played by James Marsters of Buffy the Vampire Slayer fame) and calling on the assistance of former TARDIS traveller Martha Jones (Freema Agyeman).

In Something in the Darkness, noted TV historian Stephen James Walker gives the full low-down on the action, complete with character profiles, cast and production team information, behind-the-scenes details and a comprehensive guide to each of the 13 episodes. Something in the Darkness is every fan's one-stop guide to the secret world of Torchwood.

Both books are written by Stephen James Walker and will be available in paperback and hardback. Monsters Within will join previous guides to series one, two and three of Doctor Who and Something in the Darkness will join the previous guide to series one of Torchwood. You can find out about more Telos Doctor Who and Torchwood publications on their official website here. Will you be buying these books?
Enjoy My Post
Please Comment Below


4 comments so far.

  1. Axlart 6 July 2008 at 10:56
    Both of these books look great. Might get a copy of the Doctor Who one but I doubt I will get the Torchwood one.
  2. Daniel 6 July 2008 at 11:01
    great post the books look awesome
  3. Zobles 6 July 2008 at 14:51
    great post these books look cool.
  4. BradKibbler 6 July 2008 at 19:51
    they look gr8 but i won't buy it as it is unoffical.

Something to say?